Skip to main content

Frances WillardElementary

Main Menu Toggle

RIMSD #41 Staff Receive Excellence in Education Awards

9 Rock Island-Milan School District staff members were recognized by the Regional Office of Education with an Excellence in Education Award. 
The award started by the Rock Island County Regional Office of Education is to honor teachers, school support personnel, substitute teachers, volunteers, and friends of education throughout the Rock Island County region. A banquet was planned, An Evening of Excellence in Education, to recognize the award winners. Unfortunately, the event was canceled due to the pandemic. 
In lieu of a gathering, the individuals were honored through a two-page advertisement in The Dispatch highlighting the recipients. Awards were delivered to the individual school districts so that the superintendent could personally congratulate each winner. 
"We are extremely proud that we have so many wonderful individuals to recognize for all of the work and dedication to our students and their families," said Superintendent Dr. Reginald Lawrence II. 
The district also nominated two community partners for the Friends of Education Awards. The Rock Island Kiwanis was nominated for its 1st Day Fund to giving out scholarships to our students, as well as their Terrific Kids program. Mediacom was also awarded the Friends of Education award for its partnership with the district to help provide internet access to students through the pandemic.
Honorees from RIMSD #41 include: 
  • Patrica Walls, Talent Acquisition Manager, Administration Center
  • Jeff Whitaker, Principal, Rock Island High School
  • Leigh Bowman, Teaching and Learning Specialist, Administration Center
  • Jennifer Page Pierson, Counselor, District CQ Team Lead, Rock Island High School
  • Sarah McCoy, Family Engagement Team, RIMSD#41
  • Rosaland Lee, Family Engagement Team, RIMSD#41
  • Krystall Trice, Family Engagement Team, RIMSD#41
  • Phyllis Whaley, Head Nurse, RIMSD#41
  • Bonnie Ballard, Volunteer, RIMSD#41

    Superintendent Dr. Lawrence with Krystall Trice 

    Superintendent Dr. Lawrence with Principal Jeff Whitaker

    Superintendent Dr. Lawrence with Rosaland Lee

    Superintendent Dr. Lawrence with Head Nurse Phyllis Whaley 

    Superintendent Dr. Lawrence with Sarah McCoy

    Superintendent Dr. Lawrence presenting Mediacom with it's award


    Patricia Walls 

    Superintendent Dr. Lawrence with Leigh Bowman

    Superintendent Dr. Lawrence with Bonnie Ballard

    Superintendent Dr. Lawrence with Jennifer Page Pierson

    Superintendent presenting Kiwanis with their award

*photos were taken throughout the summer when the mask mandate changed.